Not Perfect, But All Right

Sometimes a diagnosis is more difficult for us as parents than it is for our children…But I truly believe that there is magic in optimism! This is a great narrative of the thoughts that plague a mother when dealing with a very hard truth, and the strength it takes.

upwitscreek

IMG_0629

2014 has not been kind.

On a cold, snowy day in January, when my husband was in Tokyo, my 10 year old son received a lifelong sentence. It began with a sick visit to the pediatrician followed by another sick visit to a gastroenterologist. As I sat across from this woman, who I disliked as soon as she entered the room, I could not imagine that my son’s world was going to permanently change. After a brief examination and a denial of all symptoms from which she was sure he was suffering, she stoically pronounced “he has Crohn’s,” which only made me hate her more than I already did. She prescribed antibiotics and advised that he would need to be examined under general anesthesia.

That night, my son slept in my bed. I spent most of the night feeling his forehead, making sure he was still asleep, plotting the death of…

View original post 540 more words

Published by

The Private Practice Consultant

Clinical Systems/Solutions/Process Consultant, Blogger, Entrepreneur, Family Man, Lifelong Learner...

Leave a Reply

