concierge-medicine

A Year of Concierge Medicine | The Medical Bag

concierge-medicine

I am constantly on the lookout for compelling information regarding the leap to “concierge” or Direct Primary Care-type models of practicing medicine. It seems like a no-brainer to me, due in part to my experience providing consultation services and support to a physician in Texas who made the leap and who continues to prosper who has become a colleague and a friend.

You can check out what Dr. Ramirez is up to Here!

But before you go, I wanted to highlight the experience of another healthcare professional I came across who is making a go of this new model and thriving.

Dr. Jordan Grumet, MD is an internal medicine physician who owns a private practice in Northbrook, IL. His chapbook of poetry, Primary Care, was released by The Lives You Touch Publications in winter 2012. His short stories have appeared in Pulse—voices from the heart of medicine and Medical Economics. He is also a frequent contributor to the popular physician website KevinMD. Jordan updates his blog regularly (www.jordan-inmyhumbleopinion.blogspot.com) and can be followed on Twitter (@jordangrumet).

A year ago, I embarked on a voyage at the leading edge of modern-day health care. I abandoned my traditional office-based practice of 2000 patients for a much smaller membership (concierge) model. My reasons were varied. They mostly focused on the dwindling time and concentration afforded by so-called  “advances” in medicine, such as electronic medical records and the ever-increasing deluge of paperwork that plagues today’s physician. As I begin year 2, I would like to share a few things I have learned.

Surprise, Surprise

When I announced my practice transformation in early 2013, I was met with a range of responses. Many patients congratulated me vigorously and expressed great interest in the new practice structure. However, as the start date grew near and eventually passed, I was continually surprised by who actually signed up and who did not. Many who questioned me excitedly disappeared as the date grew near, while others who feigned indifference became the first patients of the new practice. There was literally no way to predict.

Please continue reading here…via A Year of Concierge Medicine | The Medical Bag.

Published by

The Private Practice Consultant

Clinical Systems/Solutions/Process Consultant, Blogger, Entrepreneur, Family Man, Lifelong Learner...

Leave a Reply

